Stencils Dilemma 

My kid: This is a car mummy.  I like this car mummy. It’s my favourite. 

Me: Nice. But I think I prefer your ones. 

(basically thinking ‘what have I done?’ I know I might be overthinking but it was really clear to me. He liked that with the stencil he could get a perfectly ‘clear’ and good looking car or tractor or whatever, as opposed to when he paints them without a pattern. I’m not belittling his satisfaction. It was pleasant to see him happy but it was heartbreaking too. If I want to embrace my son’s uniqueness, I better start by supporting his own creations and owning his pattern).

Leave a Reply

